RSS

Deck the Halls

Originally posted on Weyward Thoughts:

TFOC

It’s Christmas! Almost. Close enough. If I’ve eaten a mince pie, it’s freakin’ Christmas and I’ve had half a packet with Bailey’s Cream. Bad, bad Billy. It’s been a tough year and all the wonder and warmth and all around joy from this time of year is so needed. In my own strange little way, I’m giving you all a small gift. Twelve short Christmas stories in a neat little Weyward Thoughts package for your delectation. Download it right here. It’s only in PDF and you will only find it here. It’s to say Merry Christmas. Happy New Year. But mostly thank you. For being lovely, lovely, slightly mental, supportive readers, thank you. Now. Let’s get on with this mulled wine.

View original

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

What Matters Most by Reana Malori

81Kz4VN1ixL._SL1500_Title: What Matters Most
Series: Heroes Crossing, #5
Author: Reana Malori
Genre: Contemporary
Length: Novella (51apages)
Publisher: SHara Azod, LLC; First Edition (February 15, 2014)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4 Hearts
Blurb: Major Evan Knight was a battle-hardened man who had always put the Marine Corps before his own needs. Sierra Walker, a single mother raising a nine-year old son, wanted more from life than what was in front of her. A school project for her son would bring Major Knight into their lives and give them all something they never knew they needed…each other.
Product Link: http://www.sharaazod.com/ebook/what-matters-most.html
Reviewer: Portia
Review: I don’t know what I was expecting with What Matters Most, but I was intrigued when the opening paragraphs weren’t about any kind of grown up love. Instead, the book starts with a young boy writing a letter to a soldier. His childish words brought a smile to my face, and it was so easy to hear Dust’s “voice” in my head. Yeah, I’m a sucker for a good love story that includes kids.

Sierra is so well crafted, as a character. I got the feeling that she did not sign up for single motherhood, but once she accepted that her baby daddy wasn’t her forever guy, she handled her business. I could relate to her wanting to keep her son safe, yet wanting him to experience new people and activities.

And, I’m also sure that falling for Evan was not in her master life plan either. But, I loved the fact that she didn’t run from her attraction…but she also didn’t fall into the trap of playing the woe is me card. Their romance had a nice pace.
Now don’t get me wrong, when she did finally give up the panties, he made it well worth her time. I don’t normally quote from books, but I swear, when I read,

“I’ve been watching you all night, and I need you, Sierra. I pray to whoever listens to battle-hardened Marines that you want me the same way.” His breathing was deep and ragged, as if saying this words drained every ounce of will he had inside him. “If you want me to leave, I’ll leave. But know this–if I stay tonight, I will make you mine in every sense of the word and I will not let you go in the morning. Decide. Now.” Evan pulled away slightly, giving her time to make a decision, although one of his
hands never completely stopped touching her. All the time in the world would not change her mind at this point. It was time to go big or go home.

I was hollering at my Kindle for that woman to give that poor man some…or I would.

I recommend this title to readers who like real woman lovin’ real men and sweet little boys who love them both.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2014 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , ,

Full Circle by Chudney Thomas

81GPdFWSMOL._SL1500_Title: Full Circle
Series: Central Florida Pack, #1
Author: Chudney Thomas
Genre: Paranormal/Interracial
Length: Novella (75 pages
Publisher: Chudney Thomas (September 24th, 2014)
Heat Level: Low
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4 Kisses
Blurb: He’s waited years for her…

In a pack of werewolves, a half human isn’t exactly at the top of the food chain. Half-human, half-werewolf, Ria Marlett knows her place in the pack. And she knows exactly how the pack’s alpha, Drake Neilson, views her; as a convenient lay. So far she’s managed to avoid his advances, but she knows his patience is growing thin.

Now he’s ready to claim her.

Ria does her best to avoid Drake, but the sexy woman can’t hide who she is. Tired of waiting, now he’ll do whatever it takes to win Ria, even woo her while dealing with rabid lone wolf attacks. With the pack in danger Ria is forced to face what Drake has been telling her all along, she just might be the strongest of the pack.
Product Link:

Reviewer: Portia
Review: In the pack hierarchy, Ria is as close to the bottom as you can get. Half human/half-werewolf, with nothing to show for it. No enhanced sense, no ability to shift…nothing but a passionate love for her pack…and it’s Alpha.

OMG…I loved this book. With both interracial and paranormal being hot genres, at the moment, it would have been really easy for Chudney Thomas to fall into the trap of stereotypes and clichés. Instead, she’s created a world with just a touch of suspense, enough heat to keep me turning the pages, and characters that made me care about them.

Ria has no idea just how valuable she is to the pack. And the idea of being with Drake seems more like a fantasy than anywhere near a possibility. But, Drake has waited, and not so patiently, for Ria to grow up and be ready to take her place as his Alpha Mate. Now he just has to get her used to the idea. Throw in a few rogue wolves and some designer drugs and this is a fabulous story.

The writing is really well done. My only issue was with plotting. As much as I enjoyed the book, I didn’t feel like I got a proper ending. But, neither was it a HFN. It just felt like someone clipped off the last chapters. But maybe that is Chudney’s evil plan to get me to buy the next installment of the Central Florida Pack. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 30, 2014 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , ,

Making the First Move by Reese Ryan

17800669Title: Making the First Move
Series: Bad Boys Gone Good
Author: Reese Ryan
Genre: MF / Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel (251 pages)
Publisher: Carina Press (July 22nd, 2013)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4 Hearts
Reviewer: Thommie
Blurb: Big promotion, complete with $300 pen? Check.

A hot man, who cuddles, spends the night and makes breakfast? Check.

Waiting for the other shoe to fall? Check.

“If it feels too good to be true, it probably is.”

Five years of obsessing over her career pays off when Melanie Gordon gets a promotion that could make or break her. But the new job takes her back to her hometown to face the family she’s distanced herself from, and forces her to leave behind sexy, mysterious philanthropist Raine Mason, who just might be the man of her dreams.

By the time Raine makes his move with Melanie, her one-way ticket to Cleveland is booked. He convinces her to take a chance on him long-distance, but can’t yet trust her with the whole truth about himself.

Raine and Melanie slowly peel back each other’s layers (starting with his bicep-hugging sweater). She is finally ready to give her heart to him…until she learns the dark secret of his past. He’ll have to prove to her that love is worth the risk.

Product Link: http://ebooks.carinapress.com/243AC142-88F8-4F69-8D8A-12BBD156600D/10/134/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=563363A3-10E7-49F3-A913-3661CEB77DC0

Review: Awww!

Yes, I know, it’s absurd when it comes from me, but every once in a while there are these books that hit that special spot in me and turn me to puddle. Normally such books belong to the most violent genres. Action, Mystery, Historicals with a cruel side and I’m sold. But sometimes there comes that surprise from the romantic genre and makes me rediscover that deeply hidden romantic side of mine.

Making The First Move is a greatly written and quite acceptable romantic book that will make the hearts of every woman and perhaps some men too melt. The theme is one that has been written many times, but – even though I’m not familiar with this author – when a story has been written with a golden pen, then you love reading it no matter how much the theme has been exhausted.

Melanie is a woman who is running from her past by dipping her head deeply into her work. Crushed from a relationship gone horribly bad she leaves her hometown Cleveland and moves to San Francisco, where after years of hard work she’s finally made it up the ranks. She earns a huge promotion, but that comes with a price. First she has to go back home, to Cleveland, where the new branch is located and secondly her friend and for over a year “plus one” has just now made up his mind to tell her he has feelings for him. Feelings, which Melanie also shares. Can things get more complicated?

Yes, they apparently can because this author has a very solid and creative imagination. I loved the plot. It was exquisite. The events that follow are credible and come close to believable. Reality often hits this way and it made for a very accessible romance, one that made you feel like the heroine. Its twists and turns were fascinating without creating too much angst or drama. There were many parts that made you gasp and “awww” involuntarily, lacking though the sappy touch. I loved it, absolutely adored the plot.

The characters were also pretty damn fantastic. Melanie is that solid person one can find every day just by turning his/her head. She is a career woman, strong and confident, and full of her own inner issues and insecurities. She is a several layers character with unique depth and that makes you feel quite close to her. Yes, she’s also frustrating many times, but for the most part, she’s a woman one can easily identify with.

Mason is also an amazing character. Charming and very appealing he makes you melt even more when all his flaws get out in the open. Truth be told for half the book I had my doubts about him, as he was indeed too good to be true. But then the author made the leap and with just a turn of her pen made him human and very approachable.

The thing I loved the most though was the fact that the couple doesn’t overshadow the story by taking the entire spotlight. There are a great number of characters here and each and every one is beautifully portrayed without the overkill of many details. From Melanie’s boss to her ex and from her mother to her brother-in-law each and every character is unique and has a way to drag you into the story, making you want to be a part of it.

Furthermore, the romance and intimate scenes were absolutely gorgeous. It is a brilliant work in this aspect too as they are not too much and not too little either. The balance is perfect and the end result is quite alluring and sensual. As I said in the beginning this is a book that made me “awww” almost constantly without making me feel stupid for doing so.

So bottom end, what I’m trying to say is, if you’ve got even a “barely tolerate romance” side, you will love this book. It’s excellent and I definitely recommend it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2014 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , ,

A is for Anger… And, Why I write What I write…

MMGoodBookReviews:

Very well said…

Originally posted on Not Your Girl Friday:

i.

Today I wanted to discuss the last post that I wrote and some things that have been a long time coming.  It seemed that some commenters  don’t understand why I specifically highlight and focus on the privilege of certain groups and highlight the fact that in some situations black women aren’t going to win.  Some commenters (and some readers) may feel that I focus too much on pointing out the privilege that other groups have that black women lack.

Since I have gotten more than one of these comments on more than one occasion I will spend this post to talking about why I write what I write.

When I started this blog, I knew one of the biggest problems that I had when I looked at the collective lives of black women was that many of them made poor decisions. Now, before you get your panties incurably…

View original 2,153 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

New Cover and Excerpt

Originally posted on Lisa G. Riley.com:

MGMcover3medium1

My latest book, A Mighty Good Man, will be released on the 19th. Above is a copy of the awesome cover, and below is a brief excerpt to wet your whistle. I hope you enjoy it. Happy Friday!

Tracy placed her money on top of the check, and looked up to find Jack and Brian approaching. As always, she achieved tunnel vision and saw no one but Jack. Everything inside her shifted as if to make room for the overwhelming emotions she felt. She let her gaze roam over his long frame, stopping at his chest where he cradled the baby in his arms, his large hand flat against the child’s back with spread fingers. As she watched, he tenderly kissed the baby’s tiny forehead, his lips seeming to linger. Her eyes met his, and she found it difficult to look away from the intensity of his gaze. His gorgeous…

View original 581 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Complicated By You by Kenya Wright

18130644Title:  Complicated By You

Series:  Coventon Campus, Book #1

Author:  Kenya Wright

Genre:   New Adult Contemporary Romance

Length:  Novella (102 pages)

Publisher:  Swoon Romance (August 2nd, 2013)

Heat Level:  Moderate

Heart Rating:  ♥♥♥♥3.5Hearts

Blurb:   COMPLICATED BY YOU is a sexy New Adult love story about a girl who loves so deeply that it may cost her everything.

Evie’s childhood friend Jay has always had her back. But college complicates things as Jay starts dating Evie’s roommate Cynthia. Now, Evie spends her nights trying to sleep while Jay and Cynthia go at it like rabbits a few feet away!

Evie hates feeling like a third wheel and hates wishing it was her in Jay’s arms even more. It doesn’t help that Jay won’t let Evie date or even hook up without interfering and making sure everyone on campus knows that she’s off limits.

Something has to give. Evie can’t continue pining away for Jay, and Jay can’t continue to act like he owns her when he won’t so much as touch her. And worse of all, Evie can barely look Cynthia in the eye for fear she will know just how she feels about Jay.

Then one night shift Evie, Jay and Cynthia into a web of love and deceit, tangling their hearts and forcing one of them to come to a compromise that will change all their lives.

How far should someone go for love?

Until it’s no longer convenient, or until it’s tearing apart their soul? Evie soon realizes that love isn’t always easy and loving someone isn’t as simple as it seems. Sometimes, it’s COMPLICATED.

Look for Evie and Jay’s story to continue in December 2013!

Product Link:  http://www.amazon.com/Complicated-You-Coventon-Campus-ebook/dp/B00EB3F0A2/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1376614329&sr=1-1&keywords=complicated+by+you

Reviewer:   Tams

Review:  Evie and Jay have been best friends since they were children. They share everything, including a mutual attraction for one another, and yet, they are both completely unawares. Perhaps the fact that Jay has a girlfriend, Cynthia, who happens to be Evie’s roommate, sent some mixed signals!

Evie is a fierce character. She’s written as a strong young woman with backbone and common sense. She usually checks her brain at the door when it comes to Jay, but the heart does strange things when it comes to love. Cynthia seemed like a manipulator at the start of the story, but as you learn more about her, her past and some issue’s she’s struggled with you begin to sympathize with her. Again, at the start of the story Jay came across as the stereo typical guy that wanted to have his cake and eat it too. Along the way you learn he really is in love with both these vastly different women.

I really didn’t see the book ending like it did, but that was a definite plus. I like surprises and stories that can take a twist from where you think they are going and you end up on a completely different route. Wright has taken the all but worn out love triangle aspect in books today, and twisted it to fit her world for Evie, Cynthia and Jay. I can’t wait to see where the next book takes these characters.

It’s not a HEA, but it is a HFN. There are a few speed bumps in the story, but the oddities in the plot kept me intrigued and engaged throughout. If you’re looking for something that’s just a little different and definitely sexy, this just might be the book for you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 17, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,458 other followers