RSS

A is for Anger… And, Why I write What I write…

MMGoodBookReviews:

Very well said…

Originally posted on Not Your Girl Friday:

i.

Today I wanted to discuss the last post that I wrote and some things that have been a long time coming.  It seemed that some commenters  don’t understand why I specifically highlight and focus on the privilege of certain groups and highlight the fact that in some situations black women aren’t going to win.  Some commenters (and some readers) may feel that I focus too much on pointing out the privilege that other groups have that black women lack.

Since I have gotten more than one of these comments on more than one occasion I will spend this post to talking about why I write what I write.

When I started this blog, I knew one of the biggest problems that I had when I looked at the collective lives of black women was that many of them made poor decisions. Now, before you get your panties incurably…

View original 2,153 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

New Cover and Excerpt

Originally posted on Lisa G. Riley.com:

MGMcover3medium1

My latest book, A Mighty Good Man, will be released on the 19th. Above is a copy of the awesome cover, and below is a brief excerpt to wet your whistle. I hope you enjoy it. Happy Friday!

Tracy placed her money on top of the check, and looked up to find Jack and Brian approaching. As always, she achieved tunnel vision and saw no one but Jack. Everything inside her shifted as if to make room for the overwhelming emotions she felt. She let her gaze roam over his long frame, stopping at his chest where he cradled the baby in his arms, his large hand flat against the child’s back with spread fingers. As she watched, he tenderly kissed the baby’s tiny forehead, his lips seeming to linger. Her eyes met his, and she found it difficult to look away from the intensity of his gaze. His gorgeous…

View original 581 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Complicated By You by Kenya Wright

18130644Title:  Complicated By You

Series:  Coventon Campus, Book #1

Author:  Kenya Wright

Genre:   New Adult Contemporary Romance

Length:  Novella (102 pages)

Publisher:  Swoon Romance (August 2nd, 2013)

Heat Level:  Moderate

Heart Rating:  ♥♥♥♥3.5Hearts

Blurb:   COMPLICATED BY YOU is a sexy New Adult love story about a girl who loves so deeply that it may cost her everything.

Evie’s childhood friend Jay has always had her back. But college complicates things as Jay starts dating Evie’s roommate Cynthia. Now, Evie spends her nights trying to sleep while Jay and Cynthia go at it like rabbits a few feet away!

Evie hates feeling like a third wheel and hates wishing it was her in Jay’s arms even more. It doesn’t help that Jay won’t let Evie date or even hook up without interfering and making sure everyone on campus knows that she’s off limits.

Something has to give. Evie can’t continue pining away for Jay, and Jay can’t continue to act like he owns her when he won’t so much as touch her. And worse of all, Evie can barely look Cynthia in the eye for fear she will know just how she feels about Jay.

Then one night shift Evie, Jay and Cynthia into a web of love and deceit, tangling their hearts and forcing one of them to come to a compromise that will change all their lives.

How far should someone go for love?

Until it’s no longer convenient, or until it’s tearing apart their soul? Evie soon realizes that love isn’t always easy and loving someone isn’t as simple as it seems. Sometimes, it’s COMPLICATED.

Look for Evie and Jay’s story to continue in December 2013!

Product Link:  http://www.amazon.com/Complicated-You-Coventon-Campus-ebook/dp/B00EB3F0A2/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1376614329&sr=1-1&keywords=complicated+by+you

Reviewer:   Tams

Review:  Evie and Jay have been best friends since they were children. They share everything, including a mutual attraction for one another, and yet, they are both completely unawares. Perhaps the fact that Jay has a girlfriend, Cynthia, who happens to be Evie’s roommate, sent some mixed signals!

Evie is a fierce character. She’s written as a strong young woman with backbone and common sense. She usually checks her brain at the door when it comes to Jay, but the heart does strange things when it comes to love. Cynthia seemed like a manipulator at the start of the story, but as you learn more about her, her past and some issue’s she’s struggled with you begin to sympathize with her. Again, at the start of the story Jay came across as the stereo typical guy that wanted to have his cake and eat it too. Along the way you learn he really is in love with both these vastly different women.

I really didn’t see the book ending like it did, but that was a definite plus. I like surprises and stories that can take a twist from where you think they are going and you end up on a completely different route. Wright has taken the all but worn out love triangle aspect in books today, and twisted it to fit her world for Evie, Cynthia and Jay. I can’t wait to see where the next book takes these characters.

It’s not a HEA, but it is a HFN. There are a few speed bumps in the story, but the oddities in the plot kept me intrigued and engaged throughout. If you’re looking for something that’s just a little different and definitely sexy, this just might be the book for you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 17, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , ,

Seducing the Jackal by Seressia Glass

Seducing_the_Jackal_full-570x901Title: Seducing the Jackal

Series: Sons of Anubis #1

Author: Seressia Glass

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Length: Novella

Publisher: Harlequin Nocturne Cravings (April 1st, 2013)

Reviewer: Thommie

Heat Level: Explicit

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4 Hearts

Blurb: Centuries ago, tragedy severed the alliance between the jackal shifters and powerful Egyptian priestesses. But when four of his brothers succumb to a deadly curse, clan commander Markus kidnaps one of the witches and insists she undo the evil magic.

Although Tia can undo the curse, she insists her coven is not behind it–and she is shaken to her core by her intense attraction to her captor. The sparks between them quickly ignite, filling them both with passion and power unlike anything they’ve ever known. Will it be enough to heal the rift between their peoples?

Product Link: http://ebooks.harlequin.com/317C915C-2D99-4511-8CA6-40D5A83A205A/10/141/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=C7890133-29C4-4835-886D-CC1007067636

Review: And so starts a series that promises fun, action and some serious romance. The Sons of Anubis is the new series by Seressia Glass with the first book Seducing the Jackal making an impressing debut.

The core of the story is a new take on the ancient Egyptian myths focusing on the god, Anubis, protector of the dead, and Isis, goddess of motherhood, fertility and magic. The Sons of Anubis and Daughters of Isis in this lore have been allies once upon a time, fighting side by side with the Sons hunting the unwilling dead and taking them back to the afterlife and the Daughters protecting/healing the Sons. However a tragedy severed the bond that once united them and now, through four millennia the Jackals and the Priestesses are in animosity.

This story begins with Markus, the leader of the Jackals, kidnapping Tia, a Daughter of Isis, in order to make her undo the curse that has befallen onto two of his brothers. Markus is convinced that the Daughters have cursed his Jackals for revenge and Tia, although willing to help, cannot agree with him, even though all evidence leads to that conclusion. To make matters worse there is this huge sexual intensity between them, something they haven’t felt before. But the Jackal and the witches are enemies and anything between them is impossible… Isn’t it?

This story really appealed to me. I cannot help melting into a puddle when ancient myths are involved and I have to say this take is more than alluring. The power chemistry between Markus and Tia is absolutely wonderful. The story starts with a great deal of animosity putting both characters simultaneously into a fight mode and enhancing their appeal. But, when the hormones start flying and the sexual intensity rises, then there is this fantastic spark that electrifies the entire plot and you with it.

Tia as a character is brilliant, what with her powers being hidden beneath and manifesting in huge amounts the more her passions grow. As for Marcus, dear gods, what a character, how magnificent. Makes one wish he wasn’t a fiction character, but indeed alive. I loved them both and boy, did they feel perfect for each other.

The story becomes even better when action takes place and the fighting, that I wouldn’t have expected, actually happened. I think that is exactly what made me a fan of this newborn series. The fact that it has more depth and action than just romance. I can’t wait to see how the story will continue. Hooking indeed.

So I will recommend this to all you that love a good romance tinged with some action and back by a brilliant lore, all wrapped in crackling heat and intense sensuality.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , ,

Originally posted on Top 2 Bottom Reviews:

Ryan Field posted this on his blog which you can find here: Ryan Field Blog and I read it and found myself nodding through the whole posting. So I asked him if he minded if I reposted this here and he gave me permission. So here you go.

Poodles and gay men are two of the most misrepresented groups in the world. When most people think about poodles, they think about prissy, high-strung dogs who yap all the time and prance around in silly haircuts and rhinestone collars. When most people think about gay men they think about what they’ve seen on TV shows and films like “Sex in the City,” where every strong woman has at least one effeminate gay friend to hang out with. Trust me on this, poodles are nothing like that and neither are gay men. I have two poodles and the reason why I have…

View original 1,541 more words

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Temporary Position by Scarlett Parrish

Title: Temporary Position

Author: Scarlett Parrish

ISBN: 978-0-85715-800-0

Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing (October 31, 2011)

Genre: Ménage à Trois MFM/ Contemporary

Format/Length: Novella (53 pages) 172 KB

Heat Level: moderate/explicit

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4Hearts

Reviewer: Artemis

From the Publisher:   Jess Ludlow’s spent three months trying to pretend she didn’t kiss two work colleagues after a staff dinner. They might not all work in the same department store but they’re employees of the same parent company and these things have a habit of refusing to be forgotten. The biggest problem is deciding what she regrets more – kissing Tyler and Sebastian at all, or walking away.

Both men have a vacancy only Jess can fill. A staffing dilemma gives them the perfect excuse to draft her in, and a brief window of opportunity to convince her they have unfinished business. Tyler can sweet-talk her in English, Sebastian’s fluent in Swedish, so between them (which is where Jess belongs); they’re ready to pull out all the stops.

And the nipple clamps.

About the Author:   Scarlett Parrish was born at a young age on Planet Earth where she still spends most of her time. Possessed of an unholy lust for James Purefoy, she sometimes ventures out to stock up on chocolate, hurrying home again before the sun burns her to a cinder. Once James realizes she’s the only woman who can make him happy, she plans to rise up, take over the world and have a nice cup of tea.

Clearly, she forgot to take her medication before writing this author bio, but she does have splendid taste in music, the ability to leap tall buildings in a single bound and no idea why she’s talking about herself in the third person.

My Review:   This is the first work from this author that I have read and there were things I liked about it and things I would have liked to see done differently. Jess has spent months agonizing over her behavior after an office party. She kissed 2 different coworkers (at the same time) and the memory of it just won’t leave her alone. When she is asked to take a temporary position in their store she jumps at the chance…concerned that it might happen again but excited about the idea as well!

Jesse is a competent and take charge employee and Sebastian and Tyler are both fun-loving and charismatic. The characters genuinely enjoy one another’s company, banter with each other lightheartedly and their interactions seem comfortable. I really enjoyed the author’s writing style.

There were two things that bothered me about the story itself. The first one is a minor issue…Throughout the book, Jess, Tyler, and Sebastian interact with each other in a teasing, fun, and friendly manner. However, when it comes to the actual sex scenes I thought they seemed a little impersonal. Hot, yes, but I think I expected a little bit more romance to go along with it.

The biggest problem I had with it was that it ended very abruptly…I literally thought my copy had gotten cut off somehow! One minute they are in a sexy little encounter and the next minute the book is finished! I think that the author should have drawn the story out a little bit more so we at least know what happens to the character’s relationship at the end.

Overall, though, the writing it quite good. The author created characters I really liked and their interactions and conversations flowed smoothly. I am looking forward to reading more books by her!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 8, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , ,

Wine and Roses by LaVerne Thompson trailer

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,082 other followers